2012: Change Steering Committee Hands Priority Focus to University Senate

On Tuesday, March 6, 2012, the Change Steering Committee chair will formally hand the campus priority focus to the University Senate. The role and charge of the Change Committee has concluded and now the structure for setting policy and priorities will be managed by the University Senate.

The Change Steering Committee's completed 2010-2011 Campus Report is available for review.

Read the complete report » (pdf).


In February 2010, the Cabinet for Institutional Change released its report, Building the Capacity for Change: Improving the Structure and Culture of Decision-making at HSU. The report was reviewed by representatives of all campus constituencies (Academic Senate, Associated Students, Staff Council, University Executive Committee) as well as WASC; each endorsed Cabinet recommendations as a structure to guide change at HSU.

As a result, our smaller “Change Steering Committee” was created with one limited but important charge: to keep these issues on the front burner and work to ensure that those with the resources and authority to act on these recommendations do so.

In April 2010, the Change Steering Committee convened a meeting with campus leadership: the President, Provost, Vice Presidents; Academic Senate President; Associated Students President; and Staff Council representatives. Those convened prioritized a handful of key Cabinet recommendations for action in the current academic year. These priorities are in the following areas:

Diversity , Sustainability , University Governance, Enrollment , Community Time, All-Campus Calendar, and Setting Future Campus Priorities

Our committee has now established mid-semester and end-of-semester progress reporting. On this website you will find the committee’s summary and evaluation of change to date in these prioritized areas. You will also find the mid-semester reports and additional documentation submitted to us. By posting this information here, our aim is to promote transparency and to encourage all members of the campus community to become involved in this process of change.

If you have questions or suggestions, please don’t hesitate to let us know.

Bernadette Cheyne, Professor, Theater, Film, and Dance
Adrienne Colegrove-Raymond, Enrollment Management and Student Affairs
Kaci Poor, Undergraduate Student and California State Student Association Representative
Mary Glenn, Professor and Chair, Anthropology
Denice Helwig, Special Assistant to the President
John Meyer, Professor and Chair, Politics (committee chair)
Scott Paynton, Interim Associate Dean, CAHSS
Phil Rouse, QI Analyst, Human Resources
Aaron Wilyer, Undergraduate Student and Associated Students Legislative Vice-President